5 Nigerian food I love

Jollof rice: This is rice made in spiced fried tomatoes and mostly taken alongside chicken, plantain, coleslaw, and a chilled drink. Jollof rice can also be known as party rice since is also a meal you see served often in most Nigerian gathering.I admit it’s my all time favorite.I can have it everyday and won’t mind

pounded yam and egusi

Pounded yam: Like the name implies, it is yam pounded and wonderfully molded.It is one of the different types of swallow we have in Nigeria and is best and traditionally eaten with hand(but remember to wash your hand just before eating. This is normally taken with any soup of your choice and there are a lot of varieties to choose from. I mostly take mine with either okro soup, egusi soup or my all-time favorite-beans soup.

masa

Masa: Also known as rice cake.Made from ‘tuwon rice’ which is usually blended with some other things and later fried in a specially made mold that gives it its shape. It is a food mainly taken in the northern part of Nigeria and can be eaten with honey,sugar or a stew/soup.I prefer taking this with spinach stew.

Opka: this is like Moi-Moi but better(for me).This is made from Bambara beans.The beans are blended with ingredients like tomato and onions before being boiled.You can also get the powder if you want an easier way of making it.I personally believe that the best are gotten from Enugu.

Akamu

Akamu: I don’t know if I can call this a food but it is quite similar to custard and also known as pap or ogi. It really does a good job filling a person up. I love taking mine with sugar and milk and for me, it is best taken alongside Akara, Opka or Moi moi. There are also varieties of akamu you can find each having quite different ingredients. Akamu is normally fed to baby as it is believed to have nutrients the baby needs


Discover more from Melowithfiddy

Subscribe to get the latest posts sent to your email.

Leave a comment